Home / Power Tools / Best Cordless Drills for Home Use
This guide is RESEARCH-BASED ONLY. No product was personally tested. Recommendations in this guide are based on verified manufacturer features, not on use.
Introduction
If you are a homeowner or DIY beginner choosing a first cordless drill, this guide is for you. It focuses on common home tasks, such as hanging pictures, assembling furniture, and driving screws into wood and drywall. It compares five manufacturer-verified kits, explains what each specification means, and leaves a specification blank wherever the manufacturer page did not verify it.
Quick picks
- Best overall — Makita XFD131: 440 in-lbs manufacturer torque, brushless, 2-speed to 1,900 RPM, 3.0Ah battery, and a 3-year manufacturer warranty covering tool, battery, and charger.
- Budget-positioning only — CRAFTSMAN CMCD700C1: The simplest verified kit in this shortlist, with 1 x 1.5Ah battery and charger, and no second battery or attachments. No price is claimed for this positioning.
- Beginner-friendly — Bosch GSR12V-140FCB22: 12V, the lightest and shortest verified entry in this shortlist, with FlexiClick attachments for tight work.
BEST OVERALL
Makita 18V LXT Brushless 1/2 inch Driver-Drill Kit XFD131

An 18V brushless driver-drill kit with a 1/2 inch chuck.
- Voltage: 18V
- Chuck: 1/2 inch
- Torque: 440 in-lbs
- Speed: 0-500 / 0-1,900 RPM
- Motor: Brushless
- Weight: 3.8 lbs with 3.0Ah battery per manufacturer Specs (highlights say 3.6 lbs — discrepancy flagged, use the Specs figure)
- Kit: XFD13Z tool + 3.0Ah battery + DC18SD charger + bag
- Warranty: 3-year limited warranty
Pros: A complete 18V kit on paper, with a 1/2 inch chuck, brushless motor, 2-speed range to 1,900 RPM, and a 3-year manufacturer warranty covering tool, battery, and charger.
Cons and beginner trade-offs: Only one battery is included in the kit. It also has the heaviest verified with-battery weight in this shortlist. Compare weights on a with-battery basis only, and note the Makita weight discrepancy above before comparing it with any other model.
ALTERNATIVE
RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 1/2 inch Drill/Driver Kit PBLDD01K

An 18V ONE+ HP brushless drill/driver kit with a 1/2 inch ratcheting metal chuck.
- Voltage: 18V
- Chuck: 1/2 inch ratcheting metal chuck
- Torque: Up to 750 in-lbs (from Ryobi’s own US and Canada pages — never from retailers)
- Speed: 0-500 / 0-2,100 RPM
- Clutch: 24-position clutch
- Motor: Brushless
- Weight: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Kit: 2 x 2Ah batteries + charger + bag
- Warranty: 3-year limited warranty (Canada page; US text not extracted)
Pros: Two batteries are included, the chuck is a 1/2 inch ratcheting metal chuck, and the 24-position clutch gives a beginner more settings to help avoid over-driving screws.
Cons and beginner trade-offs: Weight is not stated on the manufacturer page, so it cannot be compared on weight with the other models in this guide. The warranty statement here rests on the Canada page, as noted above.
ALTERNATIVE
DeWalt 20V MAX Compact Brushless Drill/Driver Kit DCD777D1

A compact 20V MAX brushless drill/driver kit with a 1/2 inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck.
- Voltage: 20V MAX (18V nominal)
- Chuck: 1/2 inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck
- Torque: 340 UWO (UWO is NOT torque — do NOT convert or rank it against in-lbs figures)
- Speed: 2-speed 0-500 / 0-1,750 RPM per manufacturer manual (cite as manual data, not product page)
- Motor: Brushless
- Weight: Not stated on product page (2.6 lbs tool only from manual/retailer is not a with-battery weight — do not use it as one)
- Kit: 1 x 2.0Ah battery + charger + belt hook
- Warranty: Not stated on product page (3-year limited per manual only)
Pros: A compact 20V MAX brushless kit with a 1/2 inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck, a 2-speed range, and a belt hook in the kit.
Cons and beginner trade-offs: Only one battery is included, weight is not stated on the product page, and the torque figure cannot be ranked against the in-lbs figures in this guide because it is given in UWO. Do not use a tool-only weight figure in place of a product-page weight.
BEGINNER-FRIENDLY
Bosch 12V Max FlexiClick 5-in-1 Drill/Driver System Kit GSR12V-140FCB22

A 12V Max FlexiClick drill/driver system kit with attachments for tight work.
- Voltage: 12V Max
- Chuck: Base 1/4 inch hex bit holder + 3/8 inch keyless chuck attachment (NOT a standard 1/2 inch chuck drill)
- Torque: 265 in-lbs
- Speed: 0-400 / 0-1,300 RPM
- Motor: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Weight: 1.4 lb per technical data vs 1.8 lb tool only in highlights (discrepancy flagged)
- Length: 5.2-in
- Kit: Drill + keyless chuck + locking bit holder + right-angle + offset-angle attachments + 2 x 2.0Ah batteries + charger + bag
- Warranty: 3-year limited warranty
Pros: The lightest verified entry in this shortlist, with two batteries and FlexiClick attachments, including right-angle and offset-angle attachments, for tight work.
Cons and beginner trade-offs: It has the lowest manufacturer torque in this shortlist, it is a 12V system, and standard drilling needs the chuck attachment because the base is a 1/4 inch hex bit holder. Motor type is not stated on the manufacturer page, so it is left blank in the table.
BUDGET-POSITIONING ONLY
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless 1/2 inch Drill/Driver Kit CMCD700C1
Product photo pending — the exact kit image for this model is not yet approved, so no photo is shown rather than a substitute image.
A V20 cordless 1/2 inch drill/driver kit with one battery and a charger.
- Voltage: 20V MAX (18V nominal)
- Chuck: 1/2 inch
- Torque: Up to 280 UWO (not torque — do not rank against in-lbs)
- Speed: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Weight: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Clutch: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Motor: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Warranty: Not stated on manufacturer page
- Kit: 1 x 1.5Ah battery + charger
Name the exact SKU CMCD700C1, with the 1.5Ah battery. 1.3Ah and 2.0Ah variants exist; never mix variants when comparing kits.
Pros: A simple 1/2 inch chuck kit with one battery and a charger, which may suit a beginner who wants the fewest parts to learn first.
Cons and beginner trade-offs: Only one battery is included, and RPM, weight, clutch, motor, and warranty are not stated on the manufacturer page, so several comparisons in this guide must be left blank for this model. Its UWO figure also cannot be ranked against in-lbs torque figures.
UWO figures are not torque and are not ranked against in-lbs figures.
Comparison at a glance
| Model | Voltage | Torque as stated | Speed | Battery | Weight as stated | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Makita XFD131 | 18V | 440 in-lbs | 0-500 / 0-1,900 RPM | 3.0Ah x1 | 3.8 lbs with battery (Specs; highlights 3.6 lbs) | 3-year limited |
| RYOBI PBLDD01K | 18V | Up to 750 in-lbs | 0-500 / 0-2,100 RPM | 2 x 2Ah | Not stated on manufacturer page | 3-year limited (Canada page) |
| DeWalt DCD777D1 | 20V MAX (18V nominal) | 340 UWO (not torque) | 0-500 / 0-1,750 RPM (manual) | 2.0Ah x1 | Not stated on product page | Not stated on product page (manual: 3-year limited) |
| Bosch GSR12V-140FCB22 | 12V Max | 265 in-lbs | 0-400 / 0-1,300 RPM | 2 x 2.0Ah | 1.4 lb technical data / 1.8 lb highlights | 3-year limited |
| CRAFTSMAN CMCD700C1 | 20V MAX (18V nominal) | Up to 280 UWO (not torque) | Not stated on manufacturer page | 1.5Ah x1 | Not stated on manufacturer page | Not stated on manufacturer page |
Blank means the manufacturer page did not verify the figure. UWO is not torque and is never ranked against in-lbs figures. Compare weight on a with-battery basis only.
Buying advice for beginners
Voltage
20V MAX is a maximum initial voltage; the nominal voltage is 18V. On paper, 12V or 18V is sufficient for pictures, furniture, and wood or drywall screws. A higher voltage label alone does not prove a drill is the right first drill for home use.
Chuck
A 1/2 inch chuck accepts wider bits than a smaller chuck. The Bosch model in this guide is different: its base is a 1/4 inch hex bit holder, and standard drilling needs its 3/8 inch keyless chuck attachment.
Clutch
A clutch helps avoid over-driving and stripping screws; the RYOBI model’s 24-position clutch gives a beginner more settings, and clutch counts are left blank where unverified.
Brushless vs brushed
Brushless means no carbon brushes, and manufacturer pages describe it as cooler, more efficient and longer-lasting; it is a preference, not a requirement.
Battery platform
A battery platform locks future tools to that brand and voltage line; check whether the kit has one or two batteries and whether it is a kit or tool-only.
Weight
Compare weight with the battery only where stated; never mix tool-only and with-battery figures.
What a beginner does NOT need on paper
- A hammer function for wood or drywall, unless masonry is planned.
- An impact driver as a first purchase.
- The highest torque in a shortlist.
- A large combo kit.
How this guide was researched: manufacturer product pages first, then manufacturer spec sheets and manuals, then retailers only as corroboration — never as manufacturer fact. No product was personally tested. This guide is updated when meaningful product information changes.
Sources
- Makita XFD131: https://makitatools.com/products/details/XFD131
- RYOBI PBLDD01K: https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287191581 and https://ryobitools.ca/products/details/18v-one-plus-hp-brushless-12-drilldriver/
- DeWalt DCD777D1: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcd777d1/20v-max-compact-brushless-drilldriver-kit
- DeWalt manual (cited as manual, not product page): https://manuals.plus/m/ef59fa113554a8580332cf51f9e4e0330dacdf9791cc02c4ffd66331690f757a
- Bosch GSR12V-140FCB22: https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gsr12v-140fcb22-06019F6010
- Bosch warranty: https://rb-pt.io/PowerToolWarranty
- CRAFTSMAN CMCD700C1: https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcd700c1/v20-cordless-12-drill-driver-kit-1-15ah-battery-and-charger
Frequently asked questions
Is 20V MAX really 20V?
20V MAX is a maximum initial voltage. The nominal voltage is 18V.
Can UWO be compared to torque?
No. UWO is not torque, and it must not be compared or ranked against in-lbs torque figures.
Do I need a hammer drill for wood or drywall?
On paper, no, unless masonry is planned. A hammer function is not needed for wood or drywall alone.
Do I need the highest torque as a beginner?
No. For pictures, furniture, and wood or drywall screws, the highest torque in a shortlist is not a requirement on paper.